Adelstein Recognized with Loevinger–Berman Award; Completes SNMMI 'Triple Crown'

■he 2014 Loevinger–Berman Award for Excellence in Medical Internal Radiation Dosimetry (MIRD) was presented to S. James Adelstein, MD, PhD, by Roger Howell, PhD, on behalf of the SNMMI MIRD Committee. The award was presented at a continuing education session titled "Risks and Benefits of Medical Imaging with Ionizing Radiation" on June 8 at the Annual Meeting of the society in St. Louis, MO (Fig. 1). The award was established in 1999 by the SNM Awards Committee in honor of Robert Loevinger, PhD, and Mones Berman, PhD, 2 of the originators of the MIRD schema for internal dose calculations. This award recognizes excellence in the field of internal radiation dosimetry as it relates to nuclear medicine through research and/or development, significant publication contributions, and/or advancement of the understanding of internal dosimetry in relation to risk and therapeutic efficacy. Adelstein was a member of the MIRD Committee and worked closely with both Loevinger and Berman during his tenure.

Adelstein is the first 'Triple Crown' winner of the major SNMMI awards. He received the Aebersold Award in 1986, the de Hevesy Award in 1999, and now the Loevinger-Berman Award. This is a milestone achievement in the field of nuclear medicine. Adelstein's contributions to internal dosimetry are wide ranging. Among these are seminal contributions toward understanding the microdosimetry and radiobiology of Auger electron emitters, advances in therapeutic applications of radionuclides, and increased understanding of the balance between benefits and risk in medicine in general and nuclear medicine specifically. These efforts, in concert with those of his colleague Amin Kassis, PhD (2010 Loevinger-Berman awardee), led to more than 200 peer-reviewed publications and the training of more than 80 postdoctoral fellows. Adelstein played a central role in publication of many key reports for national and international committees, including the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements, National Academy of Sciences, International Commission on Radiological Protection, and International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements (ICRU). He chaired the ICRU committee that produced ICRU Report 67, Absorbed Dose Specification in Nuclear Medicine. Adelstein is an elected fellow of the American College of Nuclear Physicians and American Association for the Advancement of Science and an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Adelstein received his medical degree from Harvard Medical School (Boston, MA) and a doctorate in biophysics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Boston). He completed residency in internal medicine at Peter Bent Brigham Hospital (Boston, MA) and a fellowship in radiation

biology at Cambridge University (UK). He began his academic career at Harvard Medical School, where he was appointed as an instructor of anatomy and reached the rank of assistant professor. He then pursued a fellowship in nuclear medicine at the Johns Hopkins Hospital (Baltimore, MD), which led to his appointment as



FIGURE 1. S. James Adelstein, MD, PhD (left), received the 2014 Loevinger–Berman Award from Roger W. Howell, PhD (right), on behalf of the MIRD Committee.

an associate professor of radiology at Harvard Medical School. Adelstein advanced through the academic ranks and is currently the Paul C. Cabot Distinguished Professor of Medical Biophysics at Harvard Medical School. Adelstein founded the Joint Program in Nuclear Medicine in Boston, which has trained more than 160 medical residents in nuclear medicine (Fig. 2).

Previous recipients of the Loevinger-Berman Award were Roger J. Cloutier (1999), Dandamudi V. Rao, PhD (2000), Keith F. Eckerman, PhD (2001), Sven-Erik Strand, PhD (2002), John W. Poston, Sr., PhD (2003),



FIGURE 2. S. James Adelstein, MD, PhD (front center), formed The Joint Program in Nuclear Medicine in Boston (1971).

(Continued on page 22N)