March 4th, 2021

Via Email

The Honourable John Horgan Premier of British Columbia Premier@gov.bc.ca

RE: Timeline of Casino Openings

Dear Premier Horgan:

We are now two weeks' away from the one-year mark of the mandated closure of casinos in our province due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which took effect on March 16th, 2020.

The mandated closures have had and will continue to have a lasting impact on workers and their families in all of our communities, in all corners of our province. To make it worse, they still have no indication of when they might be able to return to work to provide for their loved ones. Nearly 37,000 people are employed through British Columbia's gaming, entertainment, leisure and hospitality sectors, including over 10,000 people directly employed by gaming operators in casinos, community gaming centres, bingo centres and horse racetracks.

Other province's/territories in Canada have managed to have their gaming industries operate without incident throughout the pandemic, with the safety of patrons and workers coming first and foremost. Our residents continue to face difficult and uncertain times as a result of the closures, with no indication of when they might see a reliable paycheck again. We would appreciate being provided with a timeline of what the provincial government is working towards in order to get our residents back to work.

The safety of casino workers and patrons is paramount. We urge you to look at other province's/territories for best practices on the reopening of casinos in developing a plan for British Columbians to safely return to work in this important sector to our communities. Workers and their families deserve to know what the Province is doing to get them back to work as quickly and safely as possible.

Sincerely,

Mayor Val van den Broek City of Langley

Mayor Ken Christian	Mayor Andy Adams	Mayor Walt Cobb
City of Kamloops	City of Campbell River	City of Williams Lake
Acting Mayor Danny Plecas	Chief William Seymour	Mayor Mike Hurley
District of Mission	Cowichan Tribes	City of Burnaby
Mayor Bob Simpson	Mayor Carol Leclerc	Mayor Jonathan Cote
City of Quesnel	City of Terrace	City of New Westminster
Mayor Lori Ackerman	Mayor Jack Froese	Mayor John Vassiliaki
City of Fort St. John	Township of Langley	City of Penticton

With copy to:

The Honourable Selina Robinson Minister of Finance FIN.Minister@gov.bc.ca

The Honourable Josie Osborne Minister of Municipal Affairs MAH.Minister@gov.bc.ca

The Honourable David Eby Attorney General AG.Minister@gov.bc.ca

The Honourable Murray Rankin
Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation
IRR.Minister@gov.bc.ca

The Honourable Harry Bains Minister of Labour LBR.Minister@gov.bc.ca

The Honourable Ravi Kahlon
Minister of Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation
JEDC.Minister@gov.bc.ca

Todd Stone
MLA, Kamloops-South Thompson
Todd.Stone.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Peter Milobar MLA, Kamloops-North Thompson Peter.Milobar.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Lorne Doerkson
MLA, Cariboo-Chilcotin
Lorne.Doerkson.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Andrew Mercier
MLA, Langley
Andrew.Mercier.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Bob D'Eith MLA, Maple Ridge-Mission Bob.DEith.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Pam Alexis MLA, Abbotsford-Mission Pam.Alexis.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Anne Kang MLA, Burnaby-Deer Lake Anne.Kang.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Raj Chouhan MLA, Burnaby-Edmonds Raj.Chouhan.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Janet Routledge
MLA, Burnaby North
Janet.Routledge.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Michele Babchuck MLA, North Island Michele.Babchuck.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Sonia Furstenau MLA, Cowichan Valley

Sonia.Furstenau.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Jennifer Whiteside
MLA, New Westminster
Jennifer.Whiteside.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Dan Davies
MLA, Peace River North
Dan.Davies.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Dan Ashton, MLA, Penticton Dan.Ashton.MLA@leg.bc.ca

Ellis Ross MLA, Skeena Ellis.Ross@leg.bc.ca