

MONTGOMERY COUNTY COUNCIL ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND

October 16, 2018

The Honorable Larry Hogan, Governor State of Maryland 100 State Circle Annapolis, Maryland 21401 Peter K. Rahn, Secretary Maryland Department of Transportation 7201 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 548 Hanover, MD 21076

Dear Governor Hogan and Secretary Rahn:

On October 9th a motor vehicle struck four young students approaching a school bus stop on northbound Georgia Avenue (MD 97) in Montgomery County's Aspen Hill neighborhood. As of this writing, one of the students has life-threatening injuries. A police investigation is underway.

We have seen a steady climb in vehicle collisions with pedestrians during the past year. To date in 2018 we have had 11 pedestrians perish along roadways in Montgomery County, compared to 11 all last year and 8 in 2016. Of the 11 who died this year, 9 were along State highways. While we do not have the police report on this incident yet, this section of MD 97 has always been considered hostile to pedestrians and bicyclists. As with similar incidents during the past couple of years on River Road (MD 190) and Veirs Mill Road (MD 586), we want immediate action to make this section of upper Georgia Avenue safe for all.

While we are grateful for the safety improvements at the River Road and Veirs Mill Road accident sites, we think it took much too long to identify the solutions and implement them. We want much more immediate safety relief along upper Georgia Avenue, including, but not limited to, reducing the speed limit: 45 mph is much too high for this suburban area. Furthermore, we expect the State Highway Administration (SHA) to be much more proactive on other State highways to reduce the chance of further severe accidents.

Very soon we will hold a Council session when we expect SHA to present the steps it will take in the short term to address this issue on its highways. We need a much streamlined (i.e., faster) process at SHA to implement pedestrian safety improvements. We all espouse the objectives of Vision Zero; now is the time to see those objectives translate into action. Sincerely,

Nancy Navarro Council Vice President District 4

Roger Berliner District 1

Sidney Katz District 3

George Leventhal At-Large

Manay Horeen

Nancy Floreen At-Large

Hans Reimer Council President At-Large

Craig Rice District 2

Tom Hucker District 5

no Elich

Marc Elrich At- Large

cc: The Honorable Isiah T. Leggett, Montgomery County Executive The Honorable Nancy King, Montgomery County Senate Delegation Chair The Honorable Shane Robinson, Montgomery County House Delegation Chair Gregory Slater, Administrator, State Highway Administration Andre Futrell, District 3 Engineer, State Highway Administration