As presidents of colleges and universities in the great state of Indiana, we write in support of strong hate crime legislation, and join regional business groups who call for a law which would authorize judges "to enhance penalties against criminals who harmed others based on their disability, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation or gender identity." We stand with Governor Holcomb when he says, "No law can stop evil, but we should be clear that our state stands with the victims & their voices will not be silenced. For that reason, it is my intent that Indiana be 1 of 46 states with hate crimes legislation— not 1 of 5 states without it." We call upon our elected representatives to act now in support of all Hoosiers, regardless of appearance, location, orientations or religious beliefs.

Indiana is home to some of the nation's most respected colleges and universities and is a state with wonderful assets and a welcoming spirit. This is a powerful opportunity to make certain that our students and citizens are afforded the same protections they are in all but five other states.

The years a student spends in college are important and impactful. Young people from across the state, the nation, and the world come to our campuses to live and learn, and to understand more about how to live in an increasingly complex and diverse world. It is our job as college presidents to ensure that we create a fertile environment for those lessons to take root. It is our responsibility to make certain that each student feels welcomed, wanted, and able to do their best work. The very future of our country depends upon this effort.

We commend the governor for his stand and join him in calling on the Indiana General Assembly to enact hate crimes legislation for the good of all Hoosiers.

Sincerely,

Michele Dvorak, Ed.D. President Ancilla College

James M. Danko President Butler University

D. Mark McCoy, Ph.D. President DePauw University John S. Pistole President Anderson University

Amy McCormack, Ed.D. President Calumet College of St. Joseph

Avis Stewart Interim President Earlham College Thomas J. Minar, Ph.D. President Franklin College

William J. Katip, Ph.D. President Grace College and Seminary

Karl W. Einolf, Ph.D. President Indiana Tech

David McFadden, Ph.D. President Manchester University

Eugene G. White, Ed.D. President Martin University

James C. Conwell, Ph.D. President Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D. President Trine University

Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C. President University of Notre Dame

Mark A. Heckler, Ph.D. President Valparaiso University Rebecca J. Stoltzfus, Ph.D. President Goshen College

Lake Lambert, Ph.D. President Hanover College

David W. Wright, Ph.D. President Indiana Wesleyan University

Daniel J. Elsener President Marian University

Ray G. Barber President Oakland City University

Janice A. Cervelli, FASLA, FCELA President y Saint Mary's College (Notre Dame, Ind.)

Robert L. Manuel President University of Indianapolis

Sister M. Elise Kriss, OSF President University of Saint Francis

Gregory D. Hess, Ph.D. President Wabash College