Article X ASSOCIATION AWARDS

CURRENT

The Officers and Board of Directors may create awards to recognize accomplishments of Association members, and may review, modify or retire awards as needed. Current Officers and Members of the Board of Directors are not eligible to receive Association awards with the exception of the Charles W. Hawkes Lifetime Achievement Award, unless the individual is retiring that year.

Section 1. Charles W. Hawkes Lifetime Achievement Award

The Charles W. Hawkes Lifetime Achievement Award, the Association's highest honor, is presented in memory of the late Charles W. Hawkes, a past President of the Texas Probation Association and the former Chief Probation Officer for Jefferson County. This award, created in 1998, is presented to a member of the Association for a lifetime of service to the probation association.

Section 2. Brian J. Kelly Award

The Brian J. Kelly Award is presented to an adult administrator who has significantly contributed to the profession or Association. Nominees are evaluated in the following areas:

1. Support of the Association through committee work, holding office, voluntary efforts and continuous or total years of membership;

- 2. Dedicated service to the courts of a given jurisdiction;
- 3. Development and implementation of new programs;
- 4. Publications or research; and
- 5. Other significant factors.

Section 3. Roxane Marek Award

This award *honors Roxane Marek, Chief Probation Officer of Wharton County and past president of TPA. It* recognizes an adult or juvenile probation professional for significant, long-standing contributions to the Texas Probation Association.

Section 4. President's Award

The President's Award recognizes a member who has made significant contributions to the probation profession or the Texas Probation Association.

Section 5. The Sam Houston State University Award

The Sam Houston State University Award is presented in recognition of scholarly contributions to the community corrections profession.

Section 6. Aris Johnson Award

This award honors Aris Johnson, retired Chief Probation Officer for Gregg County Juvenile Probation and past president of TPA. It recognizes an outstanding administrator from the juvenile discipline.

Section 7. Judge Terry L. Jacks Award

This award is named in memory of the late Terry L. Jacks, a District Judge and an original member of the Texas Probation Commission. It is presented to an adult line officer who has made significant contributions to the community corrections profession.

Section 8. Clara Pope-Willoughby Award

This award is named in memory of the Clara Pope-Willoughby, an advocate for juveniles and persons in need of services. It is presented to a juvenile line officer who has made significant contributions to the juvenile justice system.

Section 9. Lewis Amonette Award

This award is named in memory of the late Lewis "Butch" Amonette, Chief Juvenile Probation Officer for Pecos County. The award is given to a probation professional who has both administrative duties and supervises a caseload. Typically persons from small departments are selected for this award.

PROPOSED

The Officers and Board of Directors may create awards to recognize accomplishments of Association members. The following is a brief set of guidelines for renaming awards. They are intended to provide guidance to those considering proposals for new awards titles, rather than a set of rigid rules or instructions. All award proposals must be brought before the Awards and Resolutions Committee for consideration before the proposals are forwarded to the Board.

Guideline 1: Naming decisions must be grounded in the Texas Probation Association's mission and core values. Decisions about naming, renaming, and changing the Associations Awards must be made with due regard for Texas Probation Association's professional mission and core values,

- *a.* Develop and promote standards and goals for professional practitioners in the field of probation;
- *b. Provide a forum for delineating and resolving issues within the scope of probation practice and operation;*
- *c.* Develop and provide professional identity for the practitioner through a process of accreditation;
- d. Actively promote effective legislation in the areas of probation and community corrections; and
- *e.* Develop, promote, and provide meaningful training for probation and community corrections practitioners; Present the views of probation to any affiliate organization in the juvenile justice and criminal justice systems.

Guideline 2: Naming decisions complement and supplement other initiatives to achieve equity and inclusivity. Names and symbols matter to our professional field and community, but the addition, or removal, of names and images are neither the sole nor the primary ways by which the Texas Probation Association fulfills its aspirations to become more inclusive to people from all backgrounds.

Guideline 3: A decision to rename should be exceptional. Renaming should occur only under exceptional circumstances, informed and constrained by established and clear criteria.

Guideline 4: Renaming decisions should be governed by a clear, inclusive, and rigorous process. The processes by which the Texas Probation Association considers questions about particular names should be clearly articulated and publicly known, open to community input.

Charles W. Hawkes Lifetime Achievement Award

The Charles W. Hawkes Lifetime Achievement Award, the Association's highest honor, is presented in memory of the late Charles W. Hawkes, a past President of the Texas Probation Association and the former Chief Probation Officer for Jefferson County. This award, created in 1998, is presented to a member of the Association for a lifetime of service to the probation association.

Brian J. Kelly Award

The Brian J. Kelly Award is presented to an adult administrator who has significantly contributed to the profession or Association. Nominees are evaluated in the following areas:

- a) Support of the Association through committee work, holding office, voluntary efforts and continuous or total years of membership;
- b) Dedicated service to the courts of a given jurisdiction;
- c) Development and implementation of new programs;
- d) Publications or research and;
- e) Other significant factors.

Roxanne Marek Award

The award recognizes an adult or juvenile probation professional for significant, long-standing contributions to the Texas Probation Association.

President's Award

The President's Award recognizes a member who has made significant contributions to the probation profession or the Texas Probation Association.

The Sam Houston State University Award

The Sam Houston State University Award is presented in recognition of scholarly contributions to the community corrections profession.

Aris Johnson Award

This award, *is named after, the former Deputy Director of Gregg County Juvenile Probation Department who devoted* 43 years of service in the field of juvenile community corrections. Recognizes an outstanding administrator from the juvenile discipline.

Judge Terry L. Jacks Award

This award is named in memory of the late Terry L. Jacks, a District Judge and an original member of the Texas Probation Commission. It is presented to an adult line officer who has made significant contributions to the community corrections profession.

The Clara Pope-Willoughby Award

This award is named in memory of the Clara Pope-Willoughby, an advocate for juveniles and persons in need of services. It is presented to a juvenile line officer who has made significant contributions to the juvenile justice system.

The Lewis Amonette Award

This award is named in memory of the late Lewis "Butch" Amonette, Chief Juvenile Probation Officer for Pecos County. The award is given to a probation professional who has both administrative duties and supervises a caseload. Typically, persons from small departments are selected for this award.